Educational Support Departments » Counseling Department » STAR Students

STAR Students

STAR Students and Teachers
Year Student Teacher County Star
1988 Christine Morgan Carol Clark
1989 Vincent Abrams Linda Dunaway No
1990 Joe Jackson Evelyn Sheppard County Winner
1991 Michael Giles Thomas Bradshaw No
1992 Shannon Cox Evelyn Sheppard County Winner
1993 Billy Tinley Linda Dunaway County/District Winner
1994 Rob Saxon Greg Davis County Winner
1995 Neal McClellan Charlie Fales County Winner
1996 Cynthia Griffin Victoria Price County Winner
1997 Wesley Williams George Jones No
1998 Sudie Griffin Linda Dunaway County Winner
1999 Wesley Tinley Karen Reeves County Winner
Clay Crews
Latravia Robinson
Karen Reeves
Lou Tiller
County Winners
2001 John Carroll Renee Hickman County Winner
2002 Jonathan Umpleby Karen Reeves County Winner
2003 Christy Webb Karen Reeves County Winner
2004 Rob Chavous Renee Hickman County Winner
2005 Jimmy Gatliff Karen Reeves County Winner
Evan Mobley
Bobby Peel
Lynda Moore
Karen Reeves
County Winners
2007 Jeffery Chandler Barbara Tinley County Winner
2008 Meghan Spencer Kenneth Brown County Winner
2009 Krystina Johnson Amelia Simmons County Winner
2010 Laurah Young Tonya Torek No
2011 Jackson Kicklighter Mark Flowers County Winner
2012 Cannon McClain Karen Reeves County Winner
2013 Whittni Mitchell-Lloyd Karen Reeves No
2014 Jacob Griffin Karen Reeves County Winner
2015 Jackson Dye Erica Goode County Winner
2016 Michaela Pollex Stan Dodson County Winner
2017 Chris Etteh Lorri Hurst County Winner
2018 Dawson Fields Allie Crocket County Winner
2019 Rosemary Durant Stan Dodson No
2020 Elijah Farrow Jared DeLoach
County Winner
2021 Madison Cliatt Tracy Dozier
2022 Keegan McDonald Justin Russell
County Winner

Over the past 33 years, 26 BCHS students have received the honor of county-wide STAR Student. Two of these years our BCHS students tied for the STAR Student title, which means that BCPS has produced 28 students over the past 33 years with the highest SAT score in Burke County!


Keegan McDonald has been named Burke County High School's STAR Student for the 2021-22 school year, and he selected Mr. Justin Russell as his STAR Teacher.  Mr. Russell teaches chemistry and forensic science.  Congratulations, Keegan and Mr. Russell!
Elijah Farrow has been named STAR Student for the 2019-2020 school year, and he has selected Mr. Jared DeLoach as his STAR Teacher.
Congratulations, Eli and Mr. DeLoach!
Rosemary Durant, BCHS Senior, has been named STAR Student for the 2018-2019 school year.  Rosemary chose Mr. Stan Dodson, Art Teacher, as her STAR Teacher.
Congratulations, Rosemary and Mr. Dodson!

Senior, Dawson Fields, has been named Burke County High School's STAR Student for the 2017-2018 school year. Dawson selected BCHS Agriculture teacher, Mrs. Allie Crockett, as his STAR Teacher.  Dawson was also named Burke County's District STAR Student at the Waynesboro Exchange Club's annual banquet.


Congratulations, Dawson and Mrs. Crockett!!


The Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) program honors a student  who earns the top score on the SAT and is also in the top 10 percent of the graduating class.